of converted
Conversion Complete! Click here to download

Their Satanic Majesties Second Request

The Brian Jonestown Massacre


1. all around you
2. cold to the touch
3. donovan said
4. in india you
5. no come down
6. ( around you ) everywhere
7. jesus
8. before you
9. miss june '75
10. anenome
11. baby [ prepraise ]
12. feelers
13. bad baby
14. cause, lover
15. ( baby ) love of my life
16. slowdown ( fuck tomorrow )
17. here it comes
18. all around you ( outro )

Truth in advertising: the Brian Jonestown Massacre's sophomore album does, as promised, spring forth from the Rolling Stones' long-underrated 1967 masterpiece Their Satanic Majesties Request, copping not only Mick and Keith's leering bad-boy attitude but also their their rock-and-roll-circus spirit. Opening with the brilliant "All Around You (Intro)," a tongue-in-cheek guide to the mind-altering journey ahead, the record is a kaleidoscopic, drug-fueled freakout - like the Stones' namesake album, Second Request is painted by Eastern drones and psychedelic tangents, each track bubbling with dozens of sound effects including sitars, mellotrons, farfisas, didgeridoos, tablas, congas, and glockenspiels. Travelling through the past, darkly, the Massacre arrives on the other side unscathed; their music is too rich to be merely retro, and too knowing to be merely slavish - the Stones themselves haven't made a record this strong or entertaining in years. -- allmusic.com