of converted
Conversion Complete! Click here to download

Thank God For Mental Illness

The Brian Jonestown Massacre


1. Spanish Bee
2. It Girl
3. 13
4. Ballad of Jim Jones
5. Those Memories
6. Stars
7. Free and Easy, Take 2
8. Down
9. Cause I Love Her
10. Too Crazy to Care
11. Talk Action = Shit
12. True Love
13. Sound of Confusion

At the risk of further belaboring a rather obvious point, with Thank God for Mental Illness, their third collection of absolutely stunning music in less than a year, the Brian Jonestown Massacre parallels the prolific and effortless brilliance of the Rolling Stones at their fevered late-1960s peak; the sheer scope of their achievements is stunning - rarely are bands quite so productive, or quite so consistently amazing. Thank God is the BJM's down-and-dirty country-blues outing, all 13-odd tracks supposedly recorded on a single July day at a cost of just $17.36; while it lacks the blistering immediacy of their previous material, the album swaggers and struts with all of the group's usual attitude intact, coming complete with a loose, offhanded feel perfectly accenting the overall atmosphere of debauchery - "Too Crazy to Care," "Sound of Confusion" and "Talk Minus Action Equals Shit" aren't just song titles, the're words the band lives by. - Jason Ankeny