of converted
Conversion Complete! Click here to download


The Asteroid #4

Label: Lounge Records

Released: 1998


All single track downloads $1.00

1. Onizuka +1 WAV +1 FLAC
2. The Admiral's Address +1 WAV +1 FLAC
3. Golden Girl of Spain +1 WAV +1 FLAC
4. No More Vitamins +1 WAV +1 FLAC
5. Underbelly of a Mushroom +1 WAV +1 FLAC
6. What a Sorry Way to Go +1 WAV +1 FLAC
7. Egyptians & Druids +1 WAV +1 FLAC
8. Visitation Rights +1 WAV +1 FLAC
9. Kate and the King +1 WAV +1 FLAC
10. My Stomach Since She's Left +1 WAV +1 FLAC

On the Asteroid #4's self-titled debut album, released on their own label, Lounge Records, the foursome combines elements of acoustic folk, droning rock, and middle-eastern tinges with a heavy dose of psychedelia to create an uncommonly original and innovative space-rock album for the latter 1990s. Natives of Philadelphia (or "Psychedelphia" as they refer to it), the Asteroid #4 keeps the ratio even between instrumentals and songs with vocals. The album is consistent throughout, with no glaring weak areas, and many strong points. The instrumentals "Underbelly of a Mushroom" and "Visitation Rights" are psychedelic excursions into hypnosis, with the bass and drums providing a solid foundation from which delay and reverb-laden guitar, keyboard, and sampler lines emanate and swirl. On "The Admiral's Address," the vocals seem to float above the electric guitar, while on "What a Sorry Way to Go," and "Honey Bee" sitar lines add further dimension to the compositions. The guitar work throughout the entire album is wonderful in that it never takes forefront in the song. Everything that is done by the guitar, and the other instruments for that matter, contributes to the song as a whole. Much of the beauty of this album is a result of its subtlety. More rewards are discovered upon each listen, and look for the Asteroid #4 to take us further into space as the year 2000 passes. - Jason Kane, All Music Guide