of converted
Conversion Complete! Click here to download

Take It from the Man

The Brian Jonestown Massacre

Label: Bomp!


1. Vacuum Boots
2. Who?
3. Oh Lord
4. Caress
5. (David Bowie I Love You) Since I Was Six
6. Straiaght up and Down
7. Monster
8. Take It from the Man
9. B.S.A.
10. Mary Please
11. Monkey Puzzle
12. Fucker
13. Dawn
14. Cabin Fever
15. In My Life
16. The Be Song
17. My Man Syd
18. Straight up and Down

The Brian Jonestown Massacre's obsession with the Rolling Stones continues unabated on the brilliant Take It From the Man!; where the group resurrected psychedelic-era excesses on the previous Their Satanic Majesties' Second Request, here they jump further back in time to the Stones' mid-'60s period, with even more superlative results. From the opening "Vacuum Boots" onward, Take It From the Man! is gritty, swaggering R&B-influenced rock, delivered with remarkable assurance and attitude; singer Anton Newcombe is half madman and half shaman, and he commands each delirious moment with absolute mastery, emerging not so much a disciple of Mick Jagger but as a serious threat to the throne. Tracks like "Who?," "(David Bowie I Love You) Since I Was Six," and the epic finale, "Straight up and Down," are simply amazing, evoking rock's golden age without ever disintegrating into slavish devotion - clearly, the BJM is a group that believes in killing their idols, and their intensity begs the question: just who is the World's Greatest Rock & Roll Band again?